About Us

Monroe County, located in southwest Alabama, approximately halfway between the major cities of Montgomery and Mobile, is “a county older than the state” named in honor of James Monroe, fifth President of the United States.

The county seat, Monroeville, is the home of two notable authors, Truman Capote and Nelle Harper Lee, who were childhood neighbors.  Novelist Mark Childress and journalist Cynthia Tucker are also Monroe County Natives.  In 1997 the Alabama legislature designed Monroeville and Monroe County the “Literary Capitol of Alabama.”

The beautiful old Courthouse, with its distinctive architecture, on the Monroeville town square, which now houses the Monroe County Heritage Museums, served as a model for the famed courthouse scene from the 1961 Pulitzer Prize winning novel, To Kill a Mockingbird, by Monroeville native and author Harper Lee.

An estimated 30,000 tourists visit Monroeville annually because of its association with the fictional town of Maycomb in To Kill a Mockingbird.  Each spring Monroeville celebrates its heritage with productions of To Kill a Mockingbird at the old Courthouse.

Monroe County Public Schools, currently enrolling 3,600 students, are locally governed and operated by the Monroe County Board of Education, consisting of five elected members and an appointed superintendent, with The Central Office located at 109 Pickens Street, Monroeville.

Monroe County Public Schools continue to be a vital part of the local economy, employing 278 professionals and 171 support personnel, for a total of 449 employees, making Monroe County Schools the county’s largest single employer.

Monroe County Schools continue to be debt free, currently operating with an annual budget of $34,907,627, $29,264,139 in state and local funds, and $5,643,488 in federal funds  Recent audits by the Alabama Public Examiners resulted in the highest possible, unqualified opinion.

Monroe County School System is academically sound, having met the academic goals for each year.  Despite the high standards set by The State of Alabama, all Monroe County students and teacher are making great strides toward meeting them. 

The Monroe County Public School System consists of 7 schools, a Career Technical Center, and an Alternative Program.

In partnership with our stakeholders, the Monroe County Board of Education is fully obligated to provide educational opportunities of highest quality and academic excellence in safe and orderly learning environments for all Monroe County Public School students, preparing them to achieve their highest potential as learners and citizens.



Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
June 25, no eventsJune 26, no eventsJune 27, no eventsJune 28, no eventsJune 29, no eventsJune 30, no eventsJuly 01, no events
July 02, no eventsJuly 03, no eventsJuly 04, no eventsJuly 05, no eventsJuly 06, no eventsJuly 07, no eventsJuly 08, no events
July 09, no eventsJuly 10, no eventsJuly 11, no eventsJuly 12, no events13July 14, no eventsJuly 15, no events
July 16, no eventsJuly 17, no eventsJuly 18, no eventsJuly 19, no eventsJuly 20, no eventsToday, July 21, no eventsJuly 22, no events
July 23, no eventsJuly 24, no eventsJuly 25, no eventsJuly 26, no eventsJuly 27, no eventsJuly 28, no eventsJuly 29, no events
July 30, no eventsJuly 31, no eventsAugust 01, no events234August 05, no events